New year, new smoothies

Are you into smoothies?

Who isn’t?!  I bet you’ve made a lot of smoothies, some of them awesome, some of them not so much.  They’re the perfect “fast” food, before work or even on the go.  A good blender can be your best friend, and I probably have a bit of an attachment to my awesome blender!

I’m on the quest for the perfect smoothie.

When I’m sipping the perfect smoothie, the one that’s been tailored to my nutritional needs and the flavour is just right, nothing hits the spot better.  I’m going to share with you my super antioxidant rich smoothie recipe, that’s also packed with protein.

Yes, vegan protein.

Many vegans or vegetarians struggle with the idea that they’re not getting enough protein.  Where always told by conventional nutrition that we should have more protein and fewer carbs, good fats and low sugar.

Well, I can tell you that the vegan version of protein is going to be so dense you wouldn’t believe it.  Because healthy, whole vegan protein is literally the most nutrient dense protein you can consume, per calorie.   It’s not watered down, fatty or otherwise, it is pure nutrition at it’s finest.  I’m talking about super foods like spirulina, bee pollen, chia seeds, acai and so on.

All that good stuff is in my smoothie, and don’t worry, I have ways to make it taste amazing too!

When your body gets what it needs, your mouth responds in joy.  Hope this smoothie makes your taste buds happy 🙂

I included alternatives, because if you just follow the “formula”, you’ll get a great smoothie even if you use the alternative ingredients, and it’ll be suited to your own taste.  Use your own judgement when it comes to proportions, you may like it sweeter or more fatty (add more coconut oil or almond milk), etc.  If you blend it up, dip your finger in and its not super amazing, add something and blend it up again until you get it perfect!

Acai Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk, coconut milk, coconut water, or pure water
  • 1 banana or 1/2 avocado
  • 1 kale leaf or beet green (be generous, if you feel you need more greens, add more, but don’t overdo it!)
  • 1 tsp – 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp – 1 tsp spirulina
  • 1/2 tsp – 1 tsp bee pollen (available at health food stores or a local bee keeper)
  • 1 tsp – 1 tbsp raw honey, agave or other sweetener
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen berries (optional)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (optional, this gives it a thicker, jelly texture, and ups the protein count, making it more filling)
  • 1 tsp – tbsp acai powder

Yeah, my blender doesn’t look it’s finest in these pics, but I had to post them because you deserve this smoothie recipe!  Have it in the morning (on its own) for a powerful breakfast detox.

Okay, now that you have all those ingredients in, press the button and blend to a smooth consistency.  I definitely recommend  a Blendtec or Vitamix blender if you are going to get into smoothies – the consistency is perfect every time.

Now, I warn you, this smoothie has A LOT of protein.  So you might feel very full drinking it all by yourself.  Share it with your partner or kids in the morning, or have 1 small glass and take the rest with you in a to-go bottle.  It might even get you through lunch!  Otherwise, if you are into working out it might be the perfect size for an apres-exercise snack.  Glass straws, by the way are a great eco-friendly way to sip your smoothie.

Love your comments, so let me know how it goes when you try it out.  🙂

Yep, that’s me in the mornings!

One thought on “New year, new smoothies

  1. Mmm I love smoothies! This one sounds really good but I think I am going to wait until the weather warms up a little before trying this one. I am so cold these days that I have been craving warm nourishing soups, but I can’t wait to try this.

    ps. I nominated you for a liebster award over on my blog.

Leave a Reply

